2017 Our Choice Awards

2017 Honorees


Lonnie G. Bunch III

Umbrella Award

Lonnie G. Bunch III is the director of the Smithsonian’s National Museum of African American History and Culture. As the museum’s director, Bunch has identified the museum’s mission and is developing exhibitions and public programs and coordinating the museum’s fundraising and budget development.


Joe Palmore

Services to Youth Award

Not just an artist, but also a fan of the art, Joe P is positioning himself to sit at the helm of an all-encompassing artistic hub for performers and lovers of the art form, whether he is on stage performing or behind the scenes with an eye for excellence.


The League of Women Voters

National Trends award

The League of Women Voters is a citizens’ organization that has fought since 1920 to improve our government and engage all citizens in the decisions that impact their lives.


A. Pearson, G. Geib, & G. Hanna

International Trends & Services AWARD
For Family Legacy - Bethel House

Friends Alexandra Pearson, Grace Geib and Gigi Hanna took on the task of raising funds to build a home in a children’s village in the needy city of Lusaka, Zambia. Together, they raised $150,000 to build the home, travel to Zambia and begin mission work with orphans throughout the city.


Dr. Tamika K. Cross, MD

Health & Human Services AWARD

Tamika K. Cross, MD is currently a PGY 4 Resident Physician in Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of Texas Health Science Center in Houston where she currently serves as an Administrative Chief Resident.

Past honorees


Margot James Copeland / Dr. Nana Ekua Coleman / Bob Devlin / Kim Hansen / Selven O'Keef Jarmon / Major Jones / Cherie Singleton / Gerald B. Smith / Carol Watson / Neiman Marcus


Crystal E. Ashby / Shauna Johnson Clarke / Cindy Clifford / Eileen J. Morris / Peggy B. Smith, Ph.D.


The Honorable Sheila Jackson Lee / Janiece Longoria / Constance White


Charlotte Bryant / Gayla Gardner / Jewel McGowan / Latisha Plummer / Sterling Bank


Judge Hanna Chow / Patricia Kane / Sharon Michael / Councilwoman Gracie Saenz / Genevieve Rousseve / Browning-Ferris Industries



Larine Boyce / Sylvia Brooks / Laconia Cain / Janice Character / Deborah Grotfeldt / Nellye Joyce Punch / Anita Smith / Polly Turner / JASA House of Texas / Sisters Network


Faye B. Bryant / Lois W. Bullock / Anita R. Bunkley / Audrey K. Gassama / Luellia W. Harrison* / Pamela M. Jackson / Delores D. Smith / Alvia J. Wardlaw / Carol L. Watson / Patricia R. Williams


Elaine P. Adams / Michelle Barnes / Zinetta A. Burney / Judith Craven, MD / Lillie J. Fontenot / Vanessa D. Gilmore / Jerelyn Gooden / The Rev. Yolonda Herron-Palmore / Joann Horton / Audrey H. Lawson* / Sheila Jackson Lee / The Honorable Gabrielle K. McDonald / Lois Moore / Wanda Thornton Mott, MD / Sherea McKenzie Poston